I Love

19 Jun

The idea behind daddownunder was always that one day when you’re old enough to understand rude words we would sit down together, hopefully in a nice pub supping beverages that you have just treated us to, and reflect on the time we spent together. The problem is that it’s evolved into a public advertisement of the trials and tribulations of fatherhood. I don’t want you to grow up and think you were a trial or a tribulation or worse still both.

When I take a step back from the nappies, scrape the remnants of avocado out of my hair, give my sleep deprived eyes a little rub and watch you at work I know that this is very special. So without further ado son, here are your best moments.

I love the way you curl your tongue up when you’re concentrating, I still do that and it definitely helps.

I love that when all the other babies around you are stealing your toys you only want to steal a kiss.

I love how much of a boy you are, trucks, dirt and girls, it doesn’t really get any better than that does it?

I love how quick you are to work things out, not such a fan of you deflating my bike tyres and although some brushes are perfect for running through your hair try to steer clear of the dustpan brush.

I love that you are as mesmerised by Beyonce’s “Single Ladies” video as I am.

I love that you are instinctively wary of all men but melt around women.

I love that you blow me kisses every night before bed.

I love that the only TV show to capture your attention is inextricably Letters and Numbers (Countdown for any UK readers).

I love that your first ‘word’ was a lion roar.

I love that you only high five for me.

I love that you can make a bad day good with one smile.

I love that you insist on sharing your food with me, presumably some sort of quality control system “if I have to eat this I want to see you have some first”.

I love you.

5 Responses to “I Love”

  1. James aka Superdad July 16, 2012 at 3:05 am #

    My 2.5 year old daughter loves letters and numbers too?! I do have a sneaking suspicion that it might be the time slot and not the show though as we usually start her bedtime routine around the same time so if she can stall that by watching an ‘educational’ program then she gets to go to bed later. Cheeky little buggers aren’t they?

    • daddownunder July 16, 2012 at 10:18 am #

      I think you could be on to something there James, my child genius dreams are shattered though.

  2. Richard Farrar May 16, 2013 at 11:12 am #

    What a wonderful way to say “I love you”. I know many fathers, and mothers, who feel the same way about their children. thanks for this lovely post.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogging The New Therapy? « dad down under - December 6, 2012

    [...] I Love must have been born on one of those perfect parenting days where everything goes well and you feel compelled to shout about how lucky you are to be a parent. Reading it back brings back some memories that would otherwise be forgotten – http://daddownunder.wordpress.com/2012/06/19/i-love/ [...]

  2. The Big “D” and Spreading Smiles Stealthily « dad down under - January 24, 2013

    [...] you have it; one moment I am telling anyone and everyone how lucky I am to spend so much time with my son and yesterday I was hassling my GP to refer me to a counsellor for a little one on one couch time. [...]

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

How to win at life.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

Whole Larder Love

Grow Gather Hunt Cook

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Mumabulous

A Blog That's More Than Fabulous

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - A Study in Contradictions

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

