9/10

10 Nov

My Dad is a bit like a big kid. He insists on coming down the slide with me each and every time even though I am perfectly capable of executing a tummy slide all on my own. The other day he tried to dismount a swing whilst it was moving, I think he was trying to show off to the Mums, he does that a lot, it backfired massively and he sort of crumbled into a heap. Being Dad he tried to make it look like he did it on purpose but I can assure you he didn’t, he can be so embarrassing at times. We go everywhere together, most of my friends find it a bit odd that I hang out with Dad so much but I like it. He doesn’t fuss over me quite as much as Mum and sometimes he gives me a pathetic little slap on the wrist if I push his buttons, not enough to hurt but just enough for me to pull my neck in.

He does things that would make my Mummy’s blood boil, but he mostly waits until she has gone to work. He never puts a bib on me, regularly lets me eat with my hands and no matter how many times I make him regret it he often lets me run around nappy-less, the fool! He spends far too much time on the bloody computer though, I have no idea what he’s up to but judging by the withering looks Mum gives him it’s no good. I‘m sure one day he will have the cheek to tell me to get off the computer and go outside, I will simply tell him to “go swivel”

He likes to think he’s in charge but I have worked out that if I kick and scream enough (usually about 5 minutes) he lets me get away with all sorts of criminal activity. He does seem to be wising up to that of late, but I’ll keep moving the goalposts day in day out just to fuck with his head.

Meal times are a real hoot, the more effort I see him putting into the nom nom the more I like to throw it back in his face, literally and metaphorically. All of my friends get their food from the supermarket, their food is all shiny and new, my Dad insists on pulling ours from the mud and then putting it in my mouth. I am hoping this is something I am too young to understand rather than child abuse.

Of late, my Dad has taken the extraordinary step of asking me what I want to wear, I’m not even 2 for God sakes! I will continue to insist on Wellies and a cape until he stops asking me, what a Wally! I have a multitude of cars and lorries and trucks, and take great pride in lining them up in order of awesomeness. I was quite happy with one to be fair but as long as he’s buying I’m accepting. He reads to me every night, every time he thinks he’s finished I just go and grab another one, I don’t even listen to the stories I just nod and look interested, sometimes I have been known to go to bed 30 minutes late using this ploy.

I do miss my Mummy and it is quite hard watching her pedal off every morning to this place she calls work, she had better have a damned good reason for going to work! I imagine work is the most fun place in the world, better even than the park, it’s got to be for her to go every day?

Life is good for me, I certainly can’t complain. Contrary to what my daddy thinks I’m pretty much running the show, talk about blind leading the blind! One thing there is no shortage of is hugs, smiles and kisses, as much as I try and wriggle out of every embrace it does make me feel warm and fuzzy inside and they seem to like it too. I seem to be quite a well adjusted little boy, there are some real terrors at the park, you have to keep your wits about you it’s like a jungle out there. Overall I would give Daddy a 9/10, he needs to deal with his computer addiction and get out more, other than that I would tell him to hold his line he’s doing alright.

22 Responses to “9/10”

  1. Julie November 10, 2012 at 4:47 am #

    Is it possible for any parent to ever get 10 out of 10? I think a 9 is extremely high, I would be happy with an 8.

    http://iliska-dreams.blogspot.com.au/

    • daddownunder November 13, 2012 at 7:50 am #

      I was absolutely delighted with the 9 he gave me ; )

  2. Wendy November 10, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    funny post :-)

  3. Deb November 10, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    I think your doing alright too.

    • daddownunder November 10, 2012 at 9:22 am #

      If you and the boy both think it Deb, thats good enough for me ; )

  4. Alicia - One Mother Hen November 10, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

    Great post, I’m sure my kids think I spend too much time on the computer too.

    • daddownunder November 11, 2012 at 3:49 am #

      We’re the boss though aren’t we Alicia!

  5. Lisa November 10, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    A lovely blog read to wake up to, this made me chuckle! My uncle is a stay-at-home dad and absolutely loves it, good on you, sounds like you have some really fun times!

    • daddownunder November 11, 2012 at 3:49 am #

      Thanks Lisa, I do love it, couldn’t really imagine not doing it. Thanks for the comment.

  6. Carly Findlay November 11, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    Oh this post is wonderful :) so funny, very creative! Looks like you have fun together -your litte boy will have great memories.
    My dad also called trucks ‘lorries’ – he’s English.

    • daddownunder November 11, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

      Thanks Carly, I love it too (I can say that becasue i didn’t write it). I’m afraid trucks and lorries are two very different things Carly, not sure how but they are

  7. Housewife in Heels November 12, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

    Your Dad sounds like my Mum. She regularly lets me eat bibless with my fingers, and gives in after 5 minutes of my tantruming antics. She also spends too much time on the computer. Your Mum sounds like my Dad. He also regularly goes to that fun place called work :)

    • daddownunder November 13, 2012 at 1:06 am #

      Parents – can’t live with em, cant live without em

  8. Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions November 13, 2012 at 3:09 am #

    Love it! Mia would certainly tell me to spend less time on the computer. And my phone. And then she would demand that I hand them over to her!

    • daddownunder November 13, 2012 at 3:27 am #

      How old is Mia? She sounds like she knows exactly what she wants and how ot get it

  9. iSophie November 13, 2012 at 3:19 am #

    Naw, how cute! Nothing wrong with wellies and a cape! Its a great look.

    • daddownunder November 13, 2012 at 3:24 am #

      its when its 30 degrees that its just not practical Sophie ; )

  10. Me November 13, 2012 at 5:39 am #

    What a great post – very amusing – brought back heaps of memories for me !!!! Thanks for that – a great trip down memory lane this afternoon – just what I needed to give me a break from producing month end financials !!!
    Have the best day !
    Me
    #IBOT visitor

    • daddownunder November 13, 2012 at 7:51 am #

      Glad it brought back some happy memories. The best day was had.

  11. thecontenthousewives November 14, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    HAHAAAAA, I was laughing out loud reading this! the best!

    • daddownunder November 14, 2012 at 10:49 am #

      We love a LOL round these parts, thanks contenteds

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogging The New Therapy? « dad down under - December 6, 2012

    [...] 9/10 was a rare moment of self congratulation. Rather than brazenly give myself 9/10 I cunningly use Max as a foil and seem to just about get away with it http://daddownunder.wordpress.com/2012/11/10/910/ [...]

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

How to win at life.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

Whole Larder Love

Grow Gather Hunt Cook

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - A Study in Contradictions

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

