My Little Moment With Masterchef

12 Jun

When I was younger I had foodie aspirations and lots of them. I loved to cook, I loved to cook before it was cool to love to cook. I used to spend what little money I had on recipe books, gourmet ingredients and eating out. I wrote several business plans for several foodie enterprises but never quite found the right formula to convince me to take the plunge. I had my own successful stall at a farmers market making delicious organic soups, think Porcini Mushroom and Truffle Oil. I was always trying to throw elaborate dinner parties to my motley crew of mates who would rather be down the pub.
image
When I was 24 a little show started in England called Masterchef, it was a runaway success and developed a huge cult following. The format in England was very different to the Australian version, it’s a lot more about the cooking and the contestants food knowledge rather than trying to build television personalities. Each episode I think had eight new contestants and after 4 challenges you were left with one winner who goes onto the next stage. I loved the show and by the time the second series were auditioning for contestants I had convinced myself to have a go.

I painstakingly filled out the novel sized application form, complete with “who is your food hero?” and “what is your signature dish?” and sent it off without too much hope of ever hearing anything in reply. A few weeks later I was at work and a young lady informed me that they loved my application and would I be available for a phone interview. I made my way to a toilet cubicle, a truly awful place to discuss food, locked myself in and began to wax lyrical about all things edible. I was in there for a good 30 minutes and I must confess it was a little awkward sitting back down at my desk.
2012-12-23 20.41.42
A week later I got the same call and made my way back to the toilet cubicle. This time it was a chap who drilled me on whether I could commit time to the show, how my girlfriend would feel about me being away, whether I was financially in a position to do so, etc. This was another substantial call which left my colleagues wondering if I needed more fibre in my diet. I got a letter through the post advising me that I was successfully through to the final stage of the audition process. One more test and I could have my mug on telly. This time I had to cook something at home and bring it along for a tasting panel.

I spent the next few days scouring recipe books for inspiration for a dish that (a) was delicious (b) was delicious cold (c) I was capable of making. After trying a few recipes out I settled on a chocolate fondant, a crumbly case with dark, rich, chocolate oozing out once attacked with cutlery – surely a safe bet? I made it a few times, Anna being the very indulged and willing guinea pig and made sure it still oozed and tasted the part after the hour I would be travelling to the studios.
image
I arrived and gently carried my precious cargo following the “Masterchef Auditions” signs before taking my place in line with ‘the others’. This had the nerve inducing feel of a job interview. I was called in and sat at a desk in front of 3 young women, suddenly my decision to go for a chocolate overload felt like it was going to pay off. “What have you made for us today Matthew?” They set about the fondant with forks and spoons and before long I felt like I was playing Billy Crystal in the When Harry Met Sally’s fake orgasm scene x 3! There were unrestrained orgasmic noises of pleasure coming from each one of the judges, it felt a little awkward to be honest.

When they had composed themselves they told me that I had passed with flying colours and the final hurdle would be an audition in front of a television camera. Gulp! Clammy hands, sweaty forehead, a furiously pumping heart and a quivery voice are not the tools for this particular trade. I was called into a room, the young women who had put me so at ease were replaced by a very formal looking older man and the biggest camera I have ever seen in my life was pointed at my face. I had a sinking feeling that the dream was about to turn into a nightmare and it did. I turned into a stuttering rabbit in the headlights and kissed goodbye to my Masterchef dream.
image
Sure enough I fell at the last hurdle. So there you have my little moment with Masterchef, “little” being the operative word. Despite the bitter ending it’s pleasing that as a young man I stepped outside of my comfort zone to chase my dreams; it’s something I still do today and is one of the most important life lessons I hope to pass on to Max……along with cooking of course.
IMG_4048
Are you a fan of getting out of your comfort zone? What life lessons do you hope to pass on to your children?

19 Responses to “My Little Moment With Masterchef”

  1. IrishMum June 12, 2013 at 4:02 am #

    How disappointing, you must have been gutted! Still, you did very well to get so far. I wonder if they still have your audition tape? I’m sure it would be a scream to watch now ;)

    • daddownunder June 12, 2013 at 5:40 am #

      I think we will forget all about the audition tape thank you very much : )

  2. Kassey June 12, 2013 at 4:04 am #

    Hey good for you!
    I’d like to request a ‘meet the blogger’ day where you make that chocolate dish for your readers as a ‘thanks for reading and sorry for teasing’.
    Is that a fish dish photo above with lemon grass, chilli and coriander?
    I can’t think if any life lessons right now. Food on the brain.

    • daddownunder June 12, 2013 at 5:42 am #

      Thanks Kassey. Meet the blogger day would be fun, I would be stuck in the kitchen all day though! Spot on with the fish dish, snapper fillet Asian style, delicous and simple done in foil.

  3. Neets June 12, 2013 at 5:26 am #

    I say apply for the Australian version. You’d nail it. I left 15 years of the corporate world last year to pursue a career in fitness. I love love love it and would never go back. I wish nothing more for my kids than to keep fit and healthy, chase their dreams, be true to themselves and not drink as much as I did in my 20’s!

    • daddownunder June 12, 2013 at 5:45 am #

      Your taking the do as I say not as I did approach Anits : ) I would like to pick your brains about the fitness stuff one day if you could spare a bit of time. Could you email me daddownunder@mail.com. I love that you risked leaving something safe and found something you love. Good for you! There is no way I could imagine leaving Max for three months, not even on the bad days : )

  4. The Netmums Blog June 12, 2013 at 10:35 am #

    How very cruel of them. Could at least have given you a practice run first!

  5. Keeping Up With The Holsbys June 12, 2013 at 10:42 am #

    I once got down from 200 girls to 2 to be a Disney Channel presenter.
    She got it. I was gutted!!

    • daddownunder June 12, 2013 at 10:49 am #

      Urgh so close you could taste Mickey and the gang! That sucks, do you ever wish you had have tripped her over or put laxatives in her coffee?

  6. Amanda June 12, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

    Such a shame you came so close!
    Life lessons oor err …………Do as i say not as I did showing my age now forty is the new thirty!!he he
    Try to teach my girls to be happy healthy and respect others and always help other people out if you can in anyway..
    I couldnt leave either of mine 3 and 12 …have been a stay at home mum since the day both of them were born best job in the world but dare I say the hardest!

    • daddownunder June 12, 2013 at 9:38 pm #

      You can definitely say that around here “hardest job in the world”. I think respecting others and being happy are right up on my list too. Thanks for sharing Amanda

  7. Janelle June 12, 2013 at 1:33 pm #

    Matt how about doing it cyberly (new word huh?). Anyway there’s a big following on here for MamaBake. Maybe you could instigate ‘PapaBake’ and not have to leave the house!

    • daddownunder June 12, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      Could you explain more Janelle, not sure i follow, you through me with “doing it cyberly”

  8. Rory Mouttet June 12, 2013 at 10:54 pm #

    Thats sucks but I think you should have another go here in OZ. Be awesome to see and you would become famous. The foundation is already laid!

  9. Reservoir Dad (@ReservoirDad) June 13, 2013 at 2:15 am #

    hehe. This was a good read. Are you allowed to try again? I couldn’t speak in front of more than a handful of people once but have got much better at that, and at talking to a camera. I would have stumbled at the cooking bit. Would a frozen chocolate pudding from Aldi’s have passed?

    • daddownunder June 13, 2013 at 3:44 am #

      You would have to definitely garnish well if you were going with a frozen Aldi pud. Yeah you seem pretty in the zone with the cameras, so laid back your horizontal. I don’t think I’ll be going for it again, Mrs Under would almost certainly nip that in the bud (a couple of months of single parenting would not go down well).

  10. Have a laugh on me June 13, 2013 at 3:14 am #

    You wee legend Matt – those cameras are very big, intrusive and if you weren’t prepared it would have been freaky. In my books you were as good as in – congrats! x Em

    • daddownunder June 13, 2013 at 3:45 am #

      Thats how it was in my books too Em, we must read the same books : ) You sound like you might be speaking form experience, have you had an onscreen moment you’d care to share?

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

How to win at life.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

Whole Larder Love

Grow Gather Hunt Cook

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - A Study in Contradictions

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

