Mrs Under Says………………I Do

19 Jun

We were dancing in a nightclub. I fancied the pants off of him. I leaned in and kissed him, to hell with etiquette.

I knew three weeks into our relationship that Matt was ‘the one’. He whisked me off to Prague for a holiday, we ate cake, drank vodka and laughed and laughed and laughed. He was the first boyfriend I had that treated me with real respect and made me feel special.

We were enjoying a holiday in Santorini. One night we stumbled across a restaurant built into the cliffs. Tables were dotted around the cliff ledge and we were led to one that was completed isolated from all the rest. As the sun set and the candle flickered I can remember feeling so completely content. He got down on one knee, I have no idea what he said but I got the gist. All I could manage to say was “no, no, no” but they were no’s of disbelief, fortunately my smile said yes for me.

It turned out that we hadn’t stumbled across that restaurant and it was all part of a meticulous plan. He had also arranged for a beautiful jewellers to stay open for us so that we could choose something suitably sparkly together.

The wedding was very ‘us’. I received a bunch of flowers that morning with the message “see you at the Chapel Mrs Ross” and I felt that little bit more certain. Matt asked a busker to play us down the aisle, whilst cars, cakes and photographs were all given that personal touch as trusted friends were roped in to do the honours. It was like a real wedding but without the boring bits.

We easily managed to justify two honeymoons. The morning after the wedding and both nursing hangovers we headed for a log cabin by the side of a Loch in Scotland to recover. Honeymoon Number 2 was a month of sun, sea, sand and siestas in Bahia, Brazil. Both were divine.

So much has happened in the 12 years that we’ve been together but I still see that same person I fell in love with and I still fancy the pants off of him. Now if you will excuse me Offspring is about to start and although this show seems to be a major area of contention in our marriage……I don’t care I like it.
4721_103623740129_3741991_n[1]

34 Responses to “Mrs Under Says………………I Do”

  1. peopledonteatenoughfudge June 19, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    Ohh, ahh, aww – speechless – doesn’t happen very often … Just beautiful Mrs Under

    • daddownunder June 19, 2013 at 11:49 am #

      Thank you so much, I got quite teary just reminiscing.

    • rhian @melbs June 19, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

      Oh that’s so lovely! Bit sniffly reading it actually – I must have a bit of a cold ;-)

      • daddownunder June 19, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

        Yes it’s a cold for me too, why didn’t I think of that. Thanks Rhian

  2. mummysundeservedblessings June 19, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    How romantic!! What a fabulous story. It’s lovely to hear from you on the blog ( I may have to give my hubby a turn on my blog). Hope you are enjoying Offspring. I LOVE it! I may have snorted with laughter during it tonight.

    • daddownunder June 19, 2013 at 11:51 am #

      It was a good one wasn’t it (Offspring not the post). I’m really enjoying writing for the blog, it makes for a nice change.

  3. Mum of Five Girls... (@VeronicaNeal101) June 19, 2013 at 11:50 am #

    naaww…..just when we thought we couldn’t luv Dad Down Under anymore ;-)
    LOL still fancy the pants off him….except whilst Offspring is on hey!!!!
    Sounds like a beautiful courtship and a gorgeous wedding….and there are so many wonderful years ahead !!

    • daddownunder June 19, 2013 at 11:52 am #

      Thanks Veronica and yes he knows his place when Offspring is on ; )

  4. Mary J June 19, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    I love romance! Thank you for sharing your story Mrs Ross! So beautiful! Loved the proposal, and the meeting – and all of it!

    • daddownunder June 19, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

      Thanks Mary, its only once I looked back that I realised how romantic the whole thing was.

  5. Lynn Redford June 19, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

    Hello from Canada!

    Living in land locked and rather cold at times, Calgary, Alberta, I am taken by Sarah’s abeachcottage blog. She was kind enough to introduce me to daddownunder and I am just as smitten with your blog and your lovely family. Santorini is sure the place to propose! We all have the same parenting challenges and you have an honest writing style. I have decided you must be a very down to earth family what with letting Max be a kid and all! I will admit there is a tad bit of jealousy in that you have beaches in your photos (we do have somewhat colder mountains which of course are beautiful!). Looking forward to more posts. All the best, Lynn

    • daddownunder June 19, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

      Hey Lynn, welcome to the blog and I’m glad your enjoying it. In truth I am very much at home with mountains and rivers and have always wanted to visit Canada. All the best to you and yours and thanks for commenting

  6. Julie June 19, 2013 at 11:29 pm #

    So romantic and very clever. Proposing, but allowing you to choose the ring. Mrs it sounds like you knew what you were doing when you initiated that kiss!

  7. stephanie jefferson (@stephsjoy) June 20, 2013 at 12:01 am #

    Love hearing about how people come to be a couple – such special stories!

    • daddownunder June 20, 2013 at 3:43 am #

      I had no idea how romantic he was until I wrote this, I guess I’ve got accustommed to things Stephanie : )

  8. Nikki Parkinson (@StylingYou) June 20, 2013 at 12:32 am #

    OMG that restaurant on Santorini?! I think we’ve been there too. Mr SY said he nearly proposed that night but given we’d only been together 5 months (and technically I was still married to someone else!) he’d better wait. Love this Mrs Under and can’t wait to meet you one day.

    • daddownunder June 20, 2013 at 3:44 am #

      Thats a tricky “technically” t owork with Nikki : ) I look forward ot meeting you too, Matt’s told me lots of lovely things.

  9. NewLifeOnTheRoad (@NewLifeOnRoad) June 20, 2013 at 2:36 am #

    Sounds so ideal and such a great way to start a new life together with two honeymoons ;)

    • daddownunder June 20, 2013 at 3:45 am #

      This is another plus side of getting friends to help out for the wedding, you save a small fortune.

  10. Toushka Lee (@Toushkalee) June 20, 2013 at 4:38 am #

    nawwwwwwwwwwww.

    • daddownunder June 20, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      As long as I avoided everyone reaching for the sick buckets I’m happy Toushka : )

  11. Rory Mouttet June 20, 2013 at 4:57 am #

    You don’t like Offspring Matt? I’m surprised and disappointed..

    • daddownunder June 20, 2013 at 9:01 am #

      You’re not into that stuff are you Rory,I too am surprised and disappointed

  12. Fee June 20, 2013 at 7:56 am #

    Lovely story! Love hearing other people’s love stories.

    • daddownunder June 20, 2013 at 9:00 am #

      Thanks Fee, it was nice to take a trip down memory lane

  13. Alex aka WHOA MUMMA! June 20, 2013 at 9:13 am #

    Awwwwww! Lovely. Mr Whoa Mumma was courted in exactly the same way. No etiquette whatsoever.

  14. Silly Mummy June 20, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

    Beautiful, and I was eating popcorn while reading, so it turned out like watching a Nicholas Sparks story :-p

    Congrats on finding love ;)

    • daddownunder June 20, 2013 at 12:45 pm #

      Popcorn was the perfect companion for this post : )

  15. clairereid June 21, 2013 at 4:23 am #

    Gorgeous! xxx

  16. vickyfinch June 21, 2013 at 10:34 am #

    You two give me hope that there is that perfect someone out there for me.

    He is a wonderful daddy, a highly attractive quality. Thank you both for allowing us into a little bit of your lives. I have a feeling you compliment each other just perfectly.

    • daddownunder June 21, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

      We think we do too Vicky and yes he sets high daddy standards. Thanks Vicky

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

How to win at life.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

Whole Larder Love

Grow Gather Hunt Cook

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - A Study in Contradictions

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

