Compliments to the Chef

14 Feb

I love to cook, one of the reasons I love to cook is because I like people to tell me afterwards how delicious it was and how extremely talented I am and how lucky Anna is (they don’t actually say any of that, I’m filling in the gaps). Babies, however, have to be some of the harshest food critics around. There is no room for niceties in the world of baby food feedback. If your pasta sucks I will show you exactly how much it sucks by throwing it on the floor in disgust. If your soup isn’t up to scratch I will put it in my mouth, but only so I can give you a look of complete distain and then let it dribble slowly down my chin. And how dare you think you can feed me sandwiches twice in one day, I will eat and thoroughly enjoy them the first time around but this time I will put your second rate sandwich on my tray and then I will pound it into my tray with such force that little bits of sandwich will fly in your face and about your person. Yes I liked watermelon yesterday and yes I led you to believe that it was the best thing since dummies but today I can’t stand the stuff, now take it away and get me some mango! Cooking for babies is tough!

I have taken Max’s protests to heart and go to some fairly extreme lengths in order to gain his approval. The other day Max was tucking into Hokkien noodles with honey and ginger chicken, I looked on meekly as I tried to convince my brain that my cheese sandwich was in fact the better meal. Other recipes that have received a good review are; gnocchi with pesto, chicken quesadillas, moules mariniere (I know its f@cking ridiculous!), beef bourguignon and pumpkin and parmesan risotto. On the upside by the time he is 5 I will be regarded as a world renowned chef cooking some of the finest food known to man (or baby).

We are fortunate enough to have a vegetable plot at the fantastic Veg Out Community Gardens in St Kilda. There is nothing better than watching Max raid someone else’s tomato plant and rid them of their bounty. Have a look and see if you have a shared garden scheme near you, it is so satisfying to feed your child food that you have grown yourself – it’s the caveman coming out.

What culinary treats have rocked your babies world, flicked their gastronomic switch and left them begging for more?

9 Responses to “Compliments to the Chef”

  1. laura February 14, 2012 at 7:58 am #

    Love your blog! V funny..look forward to reading the next update..

    • daddownunder February 16, 2012 at 11:10 am #

      Thanks Laura, Love that you love my blog.

  2. sally ross February 14, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

    sounds like max is living the high life, with the lovely food and organic produce. look forward to keeping up to date with life with a baby down under!

  3. sally ross February 14, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    sounds like max is living high off the hog with his lovely food, and organic produce. look forward to hearing more on the day to day life of little maxie and his dad!

  4. alison February 15, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    Whilst I will forever remain jealous that you have a plot at Veg Out and I don’t (although, it seems, I could get my bottom into gear in order to procure one) I love sharing in your gourmet productions. How funny is the pride we share in what little ones eat? Latest hits include avocado and goat’s cheese on toast (‘en croute’ if you felt like being silly), yellow and black heirloom tomatoes with leftover roast lamb, and vitello tonnato (my favourite dish ever!) followed by fresh figs. Oh, to be a one year old! I subsist on Fish’s leftovers… but they’re pretty bloody good.

    • daddownunder February 16, 2012 at 11:09 am #

      Come down to the gardens, 1st sunday of the month and i will put a good word in

  5. Christopher Ross February 17, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

    i really love your blogg, only prob is it takes up valuable scrabble time!

  6. Steve A February 21, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    Yes, it’s constant win/lose on the food-front but I have started winning quite a bit lately by lying to my daughter. “Lisa grew that pasta in the garden.” She loves Lisa and so decides to accept it. “Everyone at Play Group eats that.” Hates to be on the outer. “Ahh yeh that’s for grown ups but you can have a little bit.” Ego driven.

    Other times I try fear tactics. “There’s nothing else sweetie so you’ll have to starve tonight, sorry.”

    Of course these tactics are only effective once you have a strong bond, they are over two and you can now manipulate them.

    Is that wrong?

    • daddownunder February 23, 2012 at 3:21 am #

      Not wrong, just tatcical, perhaps even devious. I have a long way to go before I can claim to be such a skilled father.

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

Be your best self.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

wholelarderlove

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - Capturing Life

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

| Mrs Woog | Making the most of the mundane

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

