A Dads Eye View of Teething

23 Feb

The inspiration for this post remains vivid. I am at the back end of a week that left me pondering if it was perhaps in my top ten worst weeks of all time. It came in at number 9, pushing the week that I worked at an aquarium as “Sammy the Seal” children’s party entertainer extraordinaire into 10th spot on the leader board (a week of being punched, poked and prodded in my seal-y nether regions). If you display any of the following symptoms it is quite possible your child is teething;

  • There is a strong likelihood you will experience ear piercing screams that suggest some form of primitive torture taking place
  • A maximum of two hours of angry sleep, is there any other kind?
  • Your partner will look to be on the edge and dangerous, remain on your guard at all times
  • A yearning for hard liquor, strong coffee and Tim Tams (I just like Tim Tams alright!)
  • In extreme cases of teething you may find yourself typing into Google “how many teeth do babies get?” – 20 for the record, 7 down 13 to go………….oh bollocks!

Solutions are plentiful but my own prefered method is a little whisky and a gentle rocking motion, not for the baby you fools, for me! All this begs the question, are teeth really that good? I for one would gladly forego the pain that gnashers heap upon all involved in favour of a life time of sucking baby food from a pouch. Think about it, no more drilling, filling, crowning, capping, brushing, whitening, scraping, brightening, flossing and of course no more teething! And don’t even get me started on the delicious world of baby food, lamb stew in a pouch, um ummm. Just a thought that’s all.

6 Responses to “A Dads Eye View of Teething”

  1. laura February 24, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    At least you’re not having to breast feed!

  2. alan dapre February 25, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    As a dad of a three year old I have to say that dads and blogs skirt with danger every time we tap our thoughts on a keyboard. True, men don’t have to breastfeed and therefore dodge nippy teeth but that doesn’t mean we can’t have a view. Our girl went onto bottled milk at 11 months after a heroic stint by my wife, even when she was back at work. It turns out that some natural baby milk can keep in the fridge for later feeds but some will not last at all, therefore a substitute is required. As a stay at home Dad it was quite a task to get the bottles at the right temperature, with the right baby milk mix in – I was always pleased when my wife could take over after work. Teething was a nightmare – those sachets of powder (can’t remember the name) were great and the best but I usually sprinkled it on me as my daughter was so wriggly. Great blog and I look forward to reading more.

    • daddownunder February 25, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

      Its always fun to skirt with danger though isn’t it Alan? Thanks very much for having a read and contributing, you are my first “stranger” to make a comment. Keep up the great work Alan.

  3. Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions October 16, 2012 at 6:36 am #

    See I havent had any problems with teeth and breast-feeding so far. There has been one or two close calls when she has been falling asleep while feeding but for the most part we’ve been ok. In fact I have found breastfeeding while teething to be a godsend at times as at least with a boob in her mouth she has stopped sooking for 5 minutes! I loved this bit – “Your partner will look to be on the edge and dangerous, remain on your guard at all times”..yep, that has been me a few times now, particularly when Dave has been on arvo shift and not getting home till 11pm. Not having someone to tag team during that dreaded time of teething arsenic hour really makes for a frazzled wife by the end of the week. 20 teeth you say? Heaven help me I don’t think I can survive through 14 more of these!

    • daddownunder October 16, 2012 at 7:03 am #

      You started off so positively and then by the end your talking about survival : )

      • Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions October 18, 2012 at 12:40 am #

        Hahaha, yep that’s me! Even when I am struggling I do try to find a positive in the shit (the breastfeeding during teething part) because if I couldn’t at least find one positive to to teething I would cry

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

Be your best self.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

New Here

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - Capturing Life

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

| Mrs Woog | Making the most of the mundane

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

