Ahhh Crap!

3 Apr

Every single time I change Max’s nappy I find myself fantasising about a day when he can take care of ‘business’ himself. It’s not just the rancid odour that devours your nostrils, the unavoidable splodge of pooh that seeks out the crevice of your finger nails, the strained expression that alerts you to a “code brown”, the noisy protest that accompanies each and every nappy change, the relentlessness with which nappies are filled or the contorting baby doing its best to avoid your clutches – it’s all of these things wrapped up into a stinky little package that makes nappy changing so, excuse my French, f@#*ing excruciating!

I am nostalgic for the inoffensive little raisin pellets that Max used to reward us with in the glory days of nappy changes. I ponder on why at child care he is blissfully happy for a complete stranger to change his nappy, even smiling I’ve been told, but when I do it it’s as if I’m performing a crude surgical operation, traitorous swine! And his ability to wriggle out of every hold, grapple and pin, eluding the offending nappy with consummate ease (combined with an ample physique and a love of lycra), will surely set him up for a promising wrestling career one day, but at this point in time its not helpful.

For those of you who are uninitiated in the joys of pooh pouches or perhaps enough time has past that you look back with nappy tinted glasses, you will be reading this thinking to yourself “suck it up big guy, how bad can it be?” Things have got so bad that I took the radical step of fast tracking Max’s potty training recently which resulted in me peeing on my son (don’t tell mum). In another moment of weakness I took pity on the poor little darling and let him enjoy an au natural culinary experience, nude food if you will, he repaid my trust by depositing the meal I had only just served up on the seat of his high chair, never again.

Most parents get on with this inevitable baby by-product but I feel well within my rights to kick up a stink (pun intended).

4 Responses to “Ahhh Crap!”

  1. Bronnie April 3, 2012 at 2:35 am #

    I am glad to say I have managed to avoid nappy changes with both my nephews and my niece. I am a nappy virgin and plan to stay that way!

  2. alisonlloyd April 3, 2012 at 6:37 am #

    Oh my, I feel your pain! If only he would lie still, like he does for the Childcare workers…!

  3. languagelynx April 6, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    The little … well, ummm, you know what I was going to say. I too feel your pain. My little daughter has been an angel at nappy time until recently when things have got unpleasantly messy. Aaaaaah, I never knew poo would be number 2 on the “most talked about” list at mum’s group. (That pun was intended too.)

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

Be your best self.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

wholelarderlove

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - Capturing Life

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

| Mrs Woog | Making the most of the mundane

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

