Bloggers Block – What Would Zoo Do?

9 Oct

I‘ve spent this week in a state of panic, a panic that only other Bloggers can truly understand, the panic of having nothing to Blog about. Now I know that some of my less forgiving readers are probably thinking “that doesn’t usually stop you from cobbling together a couple of paragraphs, prettying it up with some cute photos of the boy and expecting us to read it” but I couldn’t even manage that. Max is usually very obliging when it comes to supplying me with Blog-worthy material but this week he simply hasn’t complied. Don’t get me wrong he has gone through his full repertoire of cute, thrown some almighty McEnroe-esque tantrums and generally been Max, but nothing that I feel is worth inflicting bestowing upon you.

There was nothing else for it, I would have to go and dig for some engineered Blog gold. Bereft of other ideas I decide that a trip to the zoo would surely throw up something of note; perhaps a gorilla would gently pluck Max from his pram and cradle him like one of her own? In recent times the word “car” which has been Max’s mantra for a while now and has become somewhat stale, has been usurped by the word “ella”. Ella, Max’s mantra du jour, is in reference to elephants rather than Rhianna’s catchy ditty featuring the immortal line “ella, ella, ella”. In a pleasing change of heart Max has decided that Ella’s are in fact far more impressive than cars, don’t get me wrong he still loses his shit every time he sees a car, but ella’s are more betterer. So the plan was, drive to the zoo, put the boy in front of an elephant and write about it, perfect!

Throughout the entire drive I had worked the boy into a frenzy, initiating ella chanting and screaming ella trumpet noises at the top of my voice. Armed with an idiot proof map complete with large arrows and pictures of each of the animals I set about getting lost and we end up walking past the monkey enclosure about five times. We did pass one monkey that pressed itself up against the glass, peed and then much to my everyone’s amusement dabbed up the wet bits with a finger and then sucked said finger. The viewing gallery was full of other parents and low and behold a quite majestical Dad joke popped into my head; just loud enough for everyone else to hear I mutter to Max “don’t you do that will you?”, sure enough it brought the house down and built up enough false confidence for me to offer up a second helping “let’s be honest we all do it don’t we?”, this comment was met with looks of horror and revulsion, we plodded on.

It seems that I was doing my best to dodge the elephant enclosure, we saw the lions, gorillas, tigers, giraffes, zebras, this was all well and good but were the f’ing f where the f’ing ella’s. By this point I cut a fairly pathetic figure, racing around like an angry Formula 1 driver (they are all fairly angry no?) getting increasingly annoyed by the camera that kept bouncing itself rhythmically off my hip bone. Eventually I smelt the unmistakable smell of elephant dung, a smell that must have travelled with me from my own childhood trips to the zoo, discarding my map I rely on my keen sense of smell to lead me to the ella’s.

Like a bloodhound on a trail we start to hear the ella’s trumpeting, it was as if they are calling us over. Max’s frenzy had reached fever pitch, “ELLA, ELLA, ELLA, ELLA, ELLA, ELLA!!!” is the chant. I pick the boy up so he is afforded a good view of the object of his desire and wham, right in front us charges the biggest bull elephant you will ever see, this thing was the size of eight regular elephants stacked on top of one another, if you could imagine such a thing and had tusks like spears, really, really, big, sharp spears. “Look Max Ella!” I shout with too much enthusiasm for a grown man, the reaction is not what I was hoping for, Max’s smile begins to turn downwards, his bottom lip starts to quiver, his eyes well up and he delivers an impressive rendition of Dustin Hoffman losing the plot in Rain Man.

The last place you want to be with a toddler who has acquired a sudden phobia for elephants is the zoo, the place is littered with sculptors, pictures, park rides and drawings of ella’s, all of which bring on another ‘Hoffman’ from the boy. We make a dash for the car bypassing the many stuffed elephant toys in the gift shop (result) as we go. The boy was still in a state of shock when we got home so I decide to settle him with an episode of Peppa Pig, I click on the only episode that we haven’t seen and we both sit down to enjoy “Edmond’s Birthday Party”. Low and behold Edmond turns out to b a sodding ella!

21 Responses to “Bloggers Block – What Would Zoo Do?”

  1. Rebecca Thompson (@TakeChargeBecc) October 9, 2012 at 5:34 am #

    This is my first visit to your blog which I enjoyed. I am impressed that you can write that much when you have bloggers block. I’ll be interested to see what you come up with when you are “on” 🙂
    #ibot

    • daddownunder October 9, 2012 at 6:55 am #

      Thanks Rebecca, I became unblocked at the zoo ; )

  2. Bachelormum October 9, 2012 at 6:18 am #

    Wouldn’t u know it! So sweet. Hopefully pepper sorted it out … If not, what about dumbo? 10 point s for effort!

    • daddownunder October 9, 2012 at 6:56 am #

      Ella’s are off the menu, we will stick to the safe world of cars

  3. jacana October 9, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    First visit to yoru blog – enjoyed your post – thanks for the smiks, smiles and giggles.

    • daddownunder October 9, 2012 at 10:05 am #

      Glad you enjoyed it it Jacana. I’m also a primary school teacher attmepting to Blog – snap! Pop back some time

  4. moglethothemodernparent October 9, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Yes great post for bloggers block! Love the last photo! Too funny

    • daddownunder October 9, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      I know last photo looks a bit cruel but I had to get it, didn’t I?

  5. jess@diaryofasahm October 9, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Oh this was priceless!
    For what it’s worth, I would not have looked at you with revulsion had I heard your really bad dad joke; I would have wholeheartedly agreed. 🙂

    • daddownunder October 9, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      It wasn’t that bad, that was one of my better ones ; )

  6. BossyMummy October 9, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    He he, the picture of him losing it in front of the elephants can only be taken by a loving parent. Glad you got your blogging mojo back 🙂

    • daddownunder October 9, 2012 at 8:15 pm #

      I couldn’t resist, loving parent and devoted blogger ; )

  7. Ros October 10, 2012 at 12:29 am #

    Ha! The Melbourne Zoo at the moment is definitely NOT the place to be with a kiddo afraid of elephants. Those sculptures are everywhere!

    • daddownunder October 10, 2012 at 1:14 am #

      Thanks Ros, I found out first hand yesterday : )

  8. kyl21z October 10, 2012 at 2:08 am #

    Holy Crapola, whata dung day! It’s funny how they can turn on a dime, these little people. But at least you got something to blog about so that’s the most important thing! I love that last pic, it’s a classic!

    • daddownunder October 10, 2012 at 2:10 am #

      Yeah I probably shouldn’t have took that pic, might have scarred him for life, but it was too good. Not enough people use the term Holy Crapola, well done ; )

  9. Kyla October 10, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    oh gosh I love the Melbourne zoo, we go every time we’re visiting the in-laws. The pic of your little man sobbing surrounded by elephants is adorable. What party poopers with the ‘do not climb’ signs though, surely the sculptures are there for the sole purpose of cute pics with kids.

    • daddownunder October 11, 2012 at 1:30 am #

      Rules are there to be broken Kyla, I had a little ride on the pink one ; )

  10. Jayne October 11, 2012 at 4:59 am #

    I thought I’d heard all the dad jokes, but yours was pretty impressive.

    You can always count on an ape to get his plums out at the zoo. Every. Time.

    I love that all the elephant sculptures behind Max say ‘Please do not climb…’ Max is all ‘Eff that!’

    • daddownunder October 11, 2012 at 7:16 am #

      Thanks Jayne, I must admit I do feel quite accomplished at a good dad joke (if there is such a thing). They say that man and ape are not that far removed but I beg to differ on the evidence of this ill-mannered primate! You’re right if he could talk he surely would have been screaming “eff that!”

  11. Try Hard Dad (@THD_Jon) October 11, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    Ha. Classic story Matt. Don’t you just love it when you start writing and then it all flows from there. I think I shall be reminding myself of this post the next time I’ve got bloggers block. Love the final photo too.

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

How to win at life.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

Journey - wholelarderlove

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - Capturing Life

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

| Mrs Woog | Making the most of the mundane

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

