From Mud to Mouth

24 Oct

A wise daddy blogger (Reservoir Dad) once said “reveal a bit more of who you are and don’t limit yourself to posting just about being a Dad”. So like a good burlesque performer I am going to set about revealing a little bit more about me, not too much (the metaphorical nipple tassel will be in tact), just enough.

I’m sure I do lots of things that are both not boy related and totally worthy of sharing. Erm, erm, aah yes there was that time that, no that was someone else. What about when that, no that was a TV show. Hhhmmm it appears that my life has become utterly fatherandsonised. I live, eat (cannibalism post anyone?) and breathe the boy. Whilst I can’t think of too many things I’d rather do than hang out with Max, surely it’s not healthy, for the sparkle in my conversation if nothing else.

One passion I have retained throughout Dad-Hood has been the simple pleasures of growing food and turning it into something delicious for Max to eat. So move over Max my new baby is called From Mud To Mouth, never one to want to work too hard these delicious posts will all appear on Daddownunder.  Fear not, there will still be the usual fatherly observations/confessionals to indulge in, think of this as an extra offering, two for the price of one.  

From Mud – With an impressive track record in killing plants, I seem an unlikely candidate to have a bountiful allotment. It never ceases to amaze me how much food that finds its way into Max’s eager mouth has been grown in my very own humble veggie patch with my not particularly green fingers. All of my recipes will therefore feature a core ingredient grown by my own fair hands as the star of a delicious show. This means big ticks for the seasonal, healthy, sustainable and tasty boxes, them there are some good boxes to have ticks in.

To Mouth –Good food never lets you down. Jump on board as I celebrate my love of all things food and showcase some of the delicious, healthy meals that I provide for my son.  I am proud of the varied and imaginative diet that Max enjoys and want to show how easy it can be, eating your child’s leftovers has never tasted so good. With this in mind I will post a culinary tale each week, it may be a recipe, a food trend, a review or a foodie day out. Recipes will offer two or three alternative ingredient combinations to suit your child and plenty of room for manoeuvre, half the fun of cooking is bastardising perfectly good recipes to suit your own tastes.

As I type this there is a Silverbeet (don’t knock it until you’ve tried it) and goats cheese frittata crisping up in the oven doing funny things to my salivary glands. It went from Mud to Mouth in less than an hour, look at how Max has dislocated his jaw just to get a good healthy mouthful and notice how much green stuff is in it – how good is that?

9 Responses to “From Mud to Mouth”

  1. ameliadraws October 24, 2012 at 2:15 am #

    yum… maybe i am bias: i like anything with the word mud in it

  2. Nikki Parkinson (@StylingYou) October 24, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    No wonder he said no to ice-cream! Yum.

  3. Laura October 29, 2012 at 10:41 am #

    Can we have the recipe please?

    • daddownunder October 30, 2012 at 1:10 am #

      Sit tight Laura, a bit of blog tinkering and then the recipes will soon flow…

  4. Julie November 10, 2012 at 1:05 am #

    Just about to plant our garden, hope I get as much food from it as you do.

    https://daddownunder.wordpress.com/

    ps Found your blog via BabyMac….

    • daddownunder November 10, 2012 at 2:50 am #

      Goo dluck with the garden Julie, it’s seriously good fun and you will be surprised how much you ge tout of it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Smoked Trout and Dill Fishcakes | dad down under - May 15, 2013

    […] are a few boxes that I like to tick before cooking a new recipe. What can I harvest from my allotment? Will Max eat […]

  2. Dad Down Under » Blog Archive » From Mud to Mouth – Smoked Trout and Dill Fishcakes - May 24, 2013

    […] are a few boxes that I like to tick before cooking a new recipe. What can I harvest from my allotment? Will Max eat […]

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

How to win at life.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

Journey - wholelarderlove

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - Capturing Life

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

| Mrs Woog | Making the most of the mundane

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

