Throwing Irregular Shapes

4 Nov

After accepting I have been over indulging in fatherhood and under-indulging in self I decided to do something for myself. I seem to collect hobbies rather than actively partake in any of them, our tiny little house is full of remnants of hobbies gone by. Bikes, surf boards, snowboards, tennis racquets, fishing rods and camping gear all jostle for space and serve the purpose of allowing me to present to myself as a sporty daredevil living life to the max (rather than the Max)!

I read a review about a Hipster gathering called No Lights No Lycra. The premise is simple, take a large room, fill it with 20 something alternative types, turn off the lights, play deafening music and everyone responds by dancing like mad folk. A nightclub/gym if you will for those who are too cool to go to nightclubs or gyms and are certainly too cool for Lycra (unless it’s somehow ironic Lycra purchased from American Apparel). That sounds like just the ticket!

I have a strange relationship with dancing, I’m absolutely terrible at it and often get pointed at or openly laughed at when I throw some irregular shapes but like a Dad to beer I keep going back for more. My parents used to send me to ballet classes when I was a lad, the lure of 50p pocket money was dangled to good effect. Surprisingly I was the only boy in the class and the girls took great delight in laughing at what I will generously call my pirouette. I also inextricably found myself opting to go on a dancing holiday with my school, as if that wasn’t enough fodder for the playground bullies I had to perform the “piece” I had learnt at assembly. I may as well have just walked around in a t-shirt saying “punch me I thoroughly deserve it”.

Go and do something for yourself they said. You’ll meet new people they said. It’ll be fun they said. Never one to turn down a challenge I fish through my wardrobe looking for something that suggests I’m young, hip and know it, in the end I have to settle for I’m getting on a bit and know it. On arrival I am confronted by a posse of Melbourne’s trendiest young things (I think posse is the collective term for trendy young things?). At this moment I knew I should probably have jumped right back in my car and sped back to the sanctuary of home but the sadist in me convinced the sensible me that it would be fun to get down with the kids. Could I just say that I am a shoe in for having a midlife crisis, I will be writing a post one day about my blonde highlights and Harley Davidson, you have been warned.

Suddenly my fellow exhibitionists start stretching and contorting their bodies into all manner of shapes, I opt for a fairly conservative touch of the toes, except I can’t actually reach my toes and have to settle for just below the knees. The stretching becomes more frenetic until I can’t actually decipher if we are stretching or dancing, I think we might be dancing. I find a suitable spot to let go of myself and loose all my inhibitions, a quiet corner facing a wall. One of the alpha trendies starts the music, I resisted the strong urge to ask “could someone please turn that down a little?” Okay then body, it’s just me and you, don’t let me down. I start off gently with a nice foot tap, the left foot, and throw in the occasional shoulder dip and perhaps a nod of the head. “Slow down Rossy, don’t reveal all you’re magic in one go, try to hold something back.” I move fairly seamlessly into alternate foot tapping and things are going swimmingly, perhaps I will invest in some black rimmed spectacles for the next class and get an angular haircut?

Without warning a couple of females enter my corner, I made it mine the second I threw down that first foot tap. One of them makes a beeline towards me, I wasn’t sure what game she was playing but I didn’t like it one little bit. Standing opposite me she then shakes her fists and screams “COME ON!” Come on what, this is all I’ve got? I now decide that I am completely out of my depth and want to go home immediately, unfortunately my route is blocked by her side kick who is writhing on the floor. I consider asking if everything is okay but it dawns on me that she is exhibiting some sort of uninhibited form of dance. The corner that was my little oasis and best friend is now very much turning into my idea of hell. The sadist in me is crying quietly to himself and leaving the sensible me to pick up the pieces.

I wrack my brain for a way out and after a little bit of wracking I come up with a cheap but versatile trick that has got me off many a dance floor in the past. I clutch my head and feign dizzyness, I am worried that this may be taken as a contemporary dance move and even convince myself that I get a nod of approval from a suitably alternative looking chap opposite. I shuffle discretely along the back wall and reach for the door, I push through it and run the first few steps until the music becomes distant and a feeling of elation surges through my uncoordinated body.

I promise myself that I will never again listen to ‘them’ and from this point forward will go back to living life to the Max rather than the max.

27 Responses to “Throwing Irregular Shapes”

  1. mumabulous November 4, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Matt my friend, the hip and cool in all of us dies when kids arrive on the scene. Time to invest in a pair of ugg boots and start spouting Dad jokes (they are the best kind afterall).
    Cheers
    Mumabulous
    PS: Anyone who does anything “ironically” is overthinking.

    • daddownunder November 4, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

      I draw the line at Ugg boots I’m afraid ; )

  2. Kevin November 4, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    I recall seeing a tshirt with “dance like no one is watching” on it. I chose not to tak any notice

  3. Reservoir Dad November 5, 2012 at 11:35 am #

    haha. Awesome. If you ever go again let me know., We’ll show those pretenders how to dance!

    • daddownunder November 5, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

      Alright RD, lets start working on some choreography, failing to prepare is preparing to fail.

      • subversivereader November 6, 2012 at 12:19 am #

        Now you’ve got me planning the bloggers ballet. I’ve just got to work out how to fit mugs of tea and coffee, beer bottles and wine glasses in 🙂

  4. Jodi November 5, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Love the Gangnam Style pic! See, you are still hip and cool… 😉 lol

    • daddownunder November 5, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

      Thanks Jodi, but if you had have seen how bad it (I) was hip and cool would not have come into it ; )

  5. Lyndal November 5, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

    oh boy – good on you for getting out there!!
    #teamIBOT

    • daddownunder November 5, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

      Thanks Lyndal, from this day forward i think i will limit myself to a drunken shuffle at weddings

  6. Eleise November 5, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    Oh dear – that is so funny!! I love the picture as well! #IBOT

    • daddownunder November 5, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      Thanks Eleise, glad my humiliation serves some purpose ; )

  7. goodgollymissholly November 5, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    And I knew I was getting old when the hipsters appeared and started doing shiz like that! Hahahaha x

  8. subversivereader November 6, 2012 at 12:20 am #

    Dance experiences like that are why I was so happy to find good adult ballet classes 🙂 I am not a bad dancer if it’s ballet or contemporary or tap. I am awful at social dancing 🙂

  9. Jayne November 6, 2012 at 5:30 am #

    Hahaha! You mean the young uns don’t tap their feet a la Dexy’s Midnight Runners around their handbags anymore? That’s it, I’m screwed.

    • daddownunder November 6, 2012 at 5:37 am #

      Whats wrong with a nice rhythmic foot tap?

  10. iSophie November 6, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    Wow you are brave! But also very smart to get out when you did!

    I can’t dance, I hate dancing. I also hate crowds, and loud musis, oh and staying up late. I’d go over a treat there wouldn’t I!

    • daddownunder November 6, 2012 at 7:44 am #

      There is such a fine line between brave and deluded dont you find? We sound like we share the same hates ; )

  11. Kimba Likes November 6, 2012 at 8:09 am #

    I’m so uncool I have participated in flash mobs – two in the past year. I know. Kill me now!

    • daddownunder November 13, 2012 at 7:49 am #

      Are flash mobs uncool? I thought they were highly cool, shows how uncool I am ; )

  12. jess@essentiallyjess November 6, 2012 at 10:34 am #

    I think you need to go back and video this whole thing and then show us. Cause that would be so funny 🙂

  13. Kelly HTandT November 7, 2012 at 1:35 am #

    My god Matt, what were you thinking? Braving a posse of hipsters without a wingman, insane! *Tips hat* at your bravery though.

    • daddownunder November 7, 2012 at 1:39 am #

      Thanks Kelly, although in hindsight I would plump for foolish rather than brave

  14. SarahMac November 9, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Oh my! It sounds like my idea of hell, you are very brave indeed! Haha!

    • daddownunder November 9, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

      I think its been established that i am more fool than brave ; )

  15. Rach November 10, 2012 at 2:41 am #

    I am in tears of laughter reading this! Love your work!

    • daddownunder November 10, 2012 at 2:47 am #

      Glad my humiliation brightened up your day Rach ; )

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

Be your best self.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

wholelarderlove

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - Capturing Life

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

| Mrs Woog | Making the most of the mundane

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

