Dadulthood

7 Nov

If I have ever somehow inadvertantly managed to convince any of you that I am a competent father, let me just state that I have just returned from breakfast with a toddler but no pram. I made the fairly elementary error of putting Max in the car, congratulating myself on a good job well done and then driving off 10km’s in the opposite direction, pramless. Mrs Under has clearly trained me well because whenever I screw up, and I make screwing up look easy, my instinctive reaction is to call her and fess up. The conversation always starts, “I’ve done something stupid, promise me you won’t get mad, promise?” She generally does get a bit mad but does her best to hide it, but I can tell.

I call the cafe manager in the hope that he is a kind hearted fellow who wouldn’t mind sending one of his minions out to retrieve our ride. A short sharp “no” was not the response I had hoped for. Not one to take no for an answer I played the ‘single parent card’, yes folks I told him I was a single parent who could not afford to replace the pram, I might have also said it was a gift and perhaps said that it held sentimental value. We have already established in earlier posts that I am on my way to Parent Hell so a few more untruths surely won’t do any harm, hell’s hell right? I think I had him at single parent and I am pleased to say the pram is currently sitting in a cafe playing havoc with the feng shui.

Pram-gate brought back memories of when I first started hanging out with Max. Every single day without fail I was losing a different item, sometimes a toy, perhaps a hat, maybe a book and once Max. I was the Hansel and Grettel of the parenting world, leaving a trail of baby goods so I could find my way home.  My daily routine went something like – go out, lose something, phone wife, fess up, feel sheepish, retrace steps, call cafes, retrieve item, feel elated.

My early Dad days were full of school boy errors. I can distinctly remember my first day on the job, Mrs Under had given me lists, a fully prepped pram, meals for father and a routine loving baby but I still felt completely out of my depth. Max was a little over one and I had been looking forward to taking over the reins (not the ones that stop babies from running away and seem a bit contentious in the parenting community) for a while. I would like to think that from day dot, I have been a hands on Dad, getting stuck into all manner of baby matter, but it felt quite intimidating knowing it was just going to be me and The Boy. The first day I think we walked all along Beach Road, after a couple of hours of walking it occurred to me that this can’t be right, Max looked like he wanted a Mummy refund and it wasn’t my idea of fun either. Lesson learnt and from that point on I have realised that less is more.

I’ve tackled fatherhood like I tackle most things, by having a go and seeing what fits, that’s me putting a positive spin on my general lack of organisation. I would like to say that I read the latest research and theories on parenting but I just buy the books and hope that the information will seep into my head. I remember going through a phase, parenting is all about phases I’m finding, of feeling very guilty that I wasn’t trying to engage Max in conversation so I started pointing out anything and everything; ride on lawn mower, reverse cycle air conditioning unit, two ducks having sex and so on. Again Max’s look of utter dismay was enough to remedy my pointing fetish.

My latest obsession and realisation is remembering that I am not just hear to show Max a good time, I need to be actively teaching him all manner of things; how to eat properly, to say please and thank you, to smile rather than cry, to respect others, to love nature and not to put your finger in your own pooh.

I’ve come a long way on my journey into fatherhood and no longer point out copulating quackers. I have now reached a place where I know I am doing a good job and it’s the best feeling in the world……………………….or it’s certainly up there with immorally convincing a cafe owner to retrieve your pram.

12 Responses to “Dadulthood”

  1. Wendy November 7, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    Our daughter is 4 months old and managed to leave the nappy bag in the car on my firdt mothers group! Luckily one of the other mums watched bub while I went to get it 😉

    • daddownunder November 7, 2012 at 2:06 am #

      Alls well that ends well Wendy, I’m sure it helped to break the ice

  2. Salz November 7, 2012 at 1:48 am #

    It’s always a learning curve with every child you have too. Some kids are just easier to deal with and some kids are just harder. of course you teach them like you said manners and all that but with every kid and their personality they can either take the teaching and run or just ignore it all together lol.

  3. Rory Mouttet November 7, 2012 at 1:57 am #

    Hahaha – My Daughters favourite ‘blanky’ has sent me on all manners of ‘holy grail’ missions.

    Great post – really enjoyed it.

    • daddownunder November 7, 2012 at 2:04 am #

      Glad you liked it Rory, keep retracing those steps ; )

  4. Jessi November 7, 2012 at 5:36 am #

    I am a rather veteran mother of 4 and yet just 2 weeks ago I left my 2 year old boys baby bag in the car when we visited the school dental van with Miss 5,only for Mr 2 too decide to pooh and wee all over the floor,stomp around a bit and attempt a self cleanup with a sheet of coloring in paper.I also wore white,which is a big mistake in most parenting cases.So even us more experienced (at least in the years we have been doing this still forget essential items.Copulating ducks gave me a laugh 🙂

    • daddownunder November 7, 2012 at 6:51 am #

      Oh my gosh, not sure I’m ready for self cleaning episodes! Copulating ducks gives everyone a laugh, apart form the poor duck on the bottom.

  5. mummysundeservedblessings November 10, 2012 at 11:00 am #

    It sounds like you are doing a great job. I have three kids and I am still figuring parenting out. I am at the point where I am realising that I can’t just say whatever I want in front of them. They actually understand me and sometimes repeat the random things I tell them.

    • daddownunder November 10, 2012 at 11:02 am #

      I’m not looking forward to that, I definitely need to replace some of my vocabulary with darn it, fiddlesticks, and sugar!

  6. Bree @ Twinkle in the Eye November 12, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    I do a lot of pointing and word saying. Nothing wrong with it dude! Thanks for linking up for Flash Blog Friday again 🙂

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

How to win at life.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

Journey - wholelarderlove

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - Capturing Life

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

| Mrs Woog | Making the most of the mundane

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

