Fashion In The Park – Dettol Mission For Health

22 Feb

Dettol Mission for Health asked me to write an article on toddler couture and the daily fashion shows that take place at the local park. Below is a mere snippet, click HERE to read the full article.

There is a competitiveness that goes hand in hand with parenting. Whose child walks, talks or utilises a potty first has all the intensity of an Olympic race when mums and dads come together and chew the fat.

One thing that seems to bring out every parent’s inner yearning to win is fashion, baby fashion to be precise. The desire to take out the coveted (and hypothetical) ‘Best Dressed Tot Award’ is high. The local park makes for the perfect venue for an impromptu toddler fashion show.

Miniature models strut their stuff on the catwalk (slide) while prospective customers (other parents) look on and work out this seasons must haves. Proud designers (parents) look on at their creations (children), cleansing their own memories of that pair of brown dungarees or the purple and orange flannel dress that they had endured all those years ago. Designers gasp in horror if one of their models happens to take a tumble in the mud or stacks it in the sandpit.

This is not for me, I am aware this sounds incredibly boring and practical and erm dad-like, but I am far more concerned with the durability and comfort of Max’s clobber than the label sewed into the back. Max is a boys boy, he eats mud, resides in a sandpit and spends his down time servicing Tonka trucks and he has no need for flash threads.

IMG_2378

4 Responses to “Fashion In The Park – Dettol Mission For Health”

  1. Julie February 22, 2013 at 11:37 pm #

    I am guilty of dressing Jarvis in a huge array of clothes. But all have been given to us second hand, found cheap on Ebay or made be me. Yes, he has the shirts and bow ties for when we go out to dinner. But my favourite outfits for him are pants I sew for him made from his Dad’s old tops and singlets that you get from Kmart in packs of five. I love the look on a select group of Mum’s faces when I tell them that his clothes are second hand or home made.

    http://iliska-dreams.blogspot.com.au/

    • daddownunder February 23, 2013 at 8:49 am #

      I love the idea of turning my old threads into something for max, my embroidery skills are not what they should be so I will have to ask my wife nicely if she’ll oblige. Thanks for the tip and the comment

  2. Housewife in Heels February 23, 2013 at 8:15 am #

    Just accidentally deleted my brilliant comment… Now I can’t remember what I wrote- but it was something about dressing my 1 and 2 year old boys identically (in durable comfy clothes). I think it’s cute. I’ll stop when they’re old enough to protest.

    • daddownunder February 23, 2013 at 8:53 am #

      Hey Helen, I am sure if I had two I would be buying 2 of everything aswell, anything to make life a little easier works for me. Thanks for popping in, hate it when you accidentally delete a brilliant comment!!

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

Be your best self.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

wholelarderlove

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - Capturing Life

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

| Mrs Woog | Making the most of the mundane

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

