I’ve Been Having An Affair

28 Mar

For the past 5 years I’ve been having an affair. What started out as lust has escalated and I’m now deeply in love. There is an “us” and a “we”. Some may not consider her classically beautiful but she has great depth and inner beauty. She has so many layers and slowly reveals them one by one, leaving you wanting more every time. She knows how to let her hair down and have a good time. Furthermore she can more than hold up her end in a conversation. Despite being my bit on the side it didn’t stop me from showing her off to my parents, how could you not, she is the hostess with the mostess.

Melbourne I think I love you.

I love that you’re like a peep show, the more time spent in your company the more you reveal
shopping
I love the way the city changes with the seasons, particularly the footy season

I love that you are worried other cities will think less of you if you don’t host every major sporting event
18964_263502305933_6082330_n

I love that you accessorize with trees

I love that your baristas carry more weight than your barristers
4705_102832490933_4373608_n

I love that breakfast is a huge event

I love that the natives find you impossibly cold and yet for me you’re wonderfully mild
swimming

I love that restaurants feel tired 6 months after being the new kid on the block

I love that black is always the new black
1316_51028700933_2711_n

I love that the real you is discretely tucked away waiting to be found

I love that you love two wheels as well as four
1316_51020185933_6151_n

I love that you’re so hip that even hipsters aren’t seen as being hip

I love that your weekly ‘what’s on’ fills more column inches than all that nasty crime stuff
untitled

I love that so many different cultures make you who you are

I love that you use a woman’s right to change her mind and regularly treat us to four seasons in one day

I love you

I have been in Australia long enough to know that I would be straying into some deep and murky waters if I were to declare Melbourne the best city, I will simply say that it’s a very nice fit for me and mine.

Where is home for you? What is it about home that makes you declare your love? Can any Melbournites add to my list?

21 Responses to “I’ve Been Having An Affair”

  1. Kassey March 28, 2013 at 5:58 am #

    Don’t be shy. It’s ok to declare she is the best. Or if you want a bet each way say that Sydney is the movie and Melbourne is the book. Sydney siders love being a big fancy movie and Melbournians know that the book is always better.

    I would say I love her four seasons in one day and the city (Queen St in particular) on a weeknight in the wee hours of the morning is very romantic.

    • daddownunder March 28, 2013 at 6:21 am #

      I might amend my list to include your four seasons shout if you don’t mind. I am yet to experience any queen street romance. Thanks for contributing Kassey

      • Kassey March 28, 2013 at 11:29 pm #

        Of course!
        And all you have to do to experience Queen street is show up. The feeling in the air is where the romance is.

  2. Zanni Arnot March 28, 2013 at 9:40 am #

    I love Melbourne too. I was there for 8 years, and part of me craves it again…little cafes, with amazing coffee crammed into every street, people from everywhere…I never felt uncomfortable or unwelcome or out of place in Melbourne. I love that you can ride everywhere, and there’s so many great things to do on the outskirts.
    But now I love where I live so much, and am happy we are here.

  3. rhian @melbs March 28, 2013 at 9:43 am #

    Totally agree with all of that, would also add that I love that Melbournites are so particular about their coffee that there is only 1 Starbucks in the whole city (and that is probably to cater for the tourists). Also I love that to Melbourne natives it is a crowded city , yet to me having lived in London for 15 years, it is pretty underinhabited (if that’s a word) and so nice to have space, wide roads, the countryside just half an hour out of the city. I must stop now, I am a married woman.

  4. kellie March 28, 2013 at 10:12 am #

    And you look so at home and comfy with her….maybe not all affairs are a bad thing 😉

  5. SorrentoMoon March 28, 2013 at 3:12 pm #

    Thank you for reminding me just how much I do love my home town and why…..Everything you said is spot on….Oh Melbourne how I miss you! Cheers SM

    • daddownunder March 28, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

      Thank you SM, Sorrento isn’t a bad spot either is it? Melbs is a great city and I’m not really a city boy in truth. Thanks for commenting

  6. Kyla March 29, 2013 at 1:05 am #

    Oh I miss Melbourne, when we moved back after years in the UK I was pregnant so we came to the Gold Coast to be near my parents instead of to Melbourne where hubby is from. While Melbourne just can’t compete with the lifestyle we have up here we both miss it, regularly consider moving back but always end up content with the 6 or 7 times a year we visit,

  7. robomum March 29, 2013 at 8:47 pm #

    A lovely take on your lovely city. Australia really is the lucky country.

  8. Emily @ Have a laugh on me April 1, 2013 at 4:47 am #

    Great ‘love’s – I love that living on the Gold Coast means that I can be at the beach, rainforest or theme parks within 20 minutes! 🙂

    • daddownunder April 1, 2013 at 6:44 am #

      I can’t compete with that Emily, you did good

    • coloursofsunset April 3, 2013 at 10:34 pm #

      seconded! ha ha. everyone knows the Gold Coast is the best! There’s nothing like sunny and 28 degrees by the beach! but oh I crave a city like Melbourne once in a while. – Aroha

  9. Grace April 1, 2013 at 5:18 am #

    I love Melbourne. Every time I visit, I’m always overwhelmed how trendy and cultured everyone seems to be. Not that I’m a complete Sydney bogan or anything (ahems) but Melbourne fashionistas take it to another extreme. And even the non-fashionistas take it to another level. On the flip side – they need to do something about the arrogant taxi drivers…Just sayin’

    • daddownunder April 1, 2013 at 6:46 am #

      I picked you as a Melbournite for some reason Grace, must be becasue you come across trendy and cultured. Good shout on the taxi drivers #growasmileanddrive

  10. Carly Jacobs (@ladysmaggle) April 4, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    I love living in Melbourne! I love the almost constant cardigan weather, the wine bars, the fact I live in Fitzroy and so do most of my friends, I love the ally ways, the coffee, the city, the river and the fashion. I love that no one looks like they shop exclusively at Sportsgirl.

    • daddownunder April 4, 2013 at 9:56 am #

      Everytime i cross the river i wonder why i live in St Kilda, i feel more energised and inspired over your way. Was the Sportsgirl reference a dig at another city? It was wasn’t it, which one?

  11. Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions April 11, 2013 at 3:12 am #

    Being a Sydney girl born and bred I will always love my city, no matter what. When you’ve spent as much time just roaming her streets as I have there is no way I couldn’t love her. One of the things I love the most is the harbours (Darling and Sydney) and the history, walking through the Rocks, the old buildings and convict history, I can’t get enough of it.

    Having said that, I think Melbourne is a pretty fantastic city too. I’ve only been once but I loved it. So beautiful and full of so many things to explore. I really want to get back and spend some more time exploring. I also love that it feels a little slower and more relaxed than Sydney, its not as crowded (well, it doesn’t seem crowded to me after spending so much time in Sydney and especially after 2 and a bit weeks exploring New York!).

    • daddownunder April 11, 2013 at 3:15 am #

      If you do head over to Melbourne Kylez and need a tour guide to show you all the hidden gems – just holla!

  12. Reen June 2, 2013 at 12:47 pm #

    I grew up in London, lived on the Mornington Peninsula for 6 years, Melbourne for 6 years and have been living in East Gippsland for 13 years. I’ve loved living in all these different places but am so glad that I am raising my family in the country, we live in such a beautiful part of Victoria and while I enjoy spending a couple of days in Melbourne, I always look forward to coming home.

    • daddownunder June 2, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

      I’ve got friends out your way Reen and it is indeed very beautiful. At the moment we live in the city for work and as much as its a great city I’m a country boy at heart, one day we will say goodbye

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

How to win at life.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

Journey - wholelarderlove

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - Capturing Life

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

| Mrs Woog | Making the most of the mundane

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

