The Remarkable Post

8 Apr

It started off as any other day, nothing remotely remarkable about it; my sleep was unceremoniously interrupted by the cries of an angry toddler, I then wrestle a mish-mash of ill fitting clothes onto said toddler, present him with a fairly unremarkable looking breakfast which he dismisses with a glare. I work him into a frenzy with the promise of a park, the same park we visit most days, remarkably he still gets excited.

The Boy takes up his position on the swing and waits for me to oblige with a well rehearsed shove. A Mum next to me makes a remark about my sleep deprived appearance, I want to make a remark about hers but I’m distracted by my ringtone. Then the day took a remarkable turn. “We like you, we like your blog and we at The Remarkable’s would like you to join us”.
IMG_4566
I was remarkably lucky to meet Lorraine Murphy, founder of The Remarkables Group, a few months back at a blogger gathering. I had my sidekick in tow and was struggling to mingle and harness my son. Without me asking, Lorraine glided over and took Max by the hand giving me five minutes to do what I had to do. I didn’t need to know anymore about her, I liked her. I NEED a Lorraine, not in a creepy restraining order kind of a way, but when your response to “What is your fee?” is “whatever you think it’s worth” you do need a Lorraine. I like to surround myself with remarkable people and in my book she is one.

I have a remarkable wife who said “sure take 2 days off a week to write, I believe in you”. I have benefitted from the advice and generosity of numerous remarkable bloggers along the way. I now get to call a very talented bunch of bloggers my colleagues, even if they do ask me to stop doing it because it’s remarkably annoying, I’ll just keep doing it. And on those rare days when I ask myself “why?” I receive remarkable comments from remarkable readers who keep coming back for more; I hope your appetites are insatiable. Best of all I have a remarkable little boy who calls me Daddy.
IMG_4393
The most remarkable thing about me used to be my left nipple which is perfectly dissected into 3 pieces like the Mercedes car badge only less shiny and sexy. Now I have a remarkable opportunity to make an income as a blogger and continue to hang out with my little plus one. Remarkably I had never read a blog until a little over a year ago. If someone had have informed me that I would be writing this post a year on I would have called them a big fat liar and ignored their pinky swear. I love to write, not the love you declare when you’re fifteen, in a park and drunk on cider, real true love.

When Lorraine asked if I had any doubts the only one I had was whether I can still be the Dad I want to be. That is and will always be my priority. I will always post about being a Dad but like a good Burlesque dancer I will slowly reveal a bit more of myself. Prior to wearing the Stay at Home Dad label I proudly wore a snazzy Modern Man label; food, fitness, fashion, design and travel all score big points with me so expect posts to have a little more of that flavour. There will be more work with brands but brands that are relevant to you and me.
IMG_4576
When I was an impossibly moody teenager my very dear Nan picked up on my love for writing. She bought me a book titled something along the lines of “How to Write” and told me it might come it useful one day. I dismissed it out of hand but took it bed each night and read it front to back over and over. Thanks Nan.

44 Responses to “The Remarkable Post”

  1. Alison Hallworth April 9, 2013 at 12:16 am #

    Well done you! Though the nipple image got me slightly distracted halfway through the article as I had to google the Mercedes brand (one of those mindblank moments). Anyhow – hip hip hooray

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 12:29 am #

      Sorry about the nipple reference Alison, it just came out : ) Hip hip hooray indeed!

  2. Caz Craig Makepeace (@yTravelBlog) April 9, 2013 at 12:23 am #

    A remarkable post Matt! Craig is most excited about the introduction of more testosterone to the group! Looking forward to meeting you soon. Congratulations. Your boy is adorable!

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 12:28 am #

      Thanks so much Caz. Yes I was quite relieved to see Craig’s face on the website too : )

  3. Ms Styling You April 9, 2013 at 12:42 am #

    Welcome aboard Matt!

  4. Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions April 9, 2013 at 12:45 am #

    Congratulations Matt, A remarkably well deserved opportunity!

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 1:05 am #

      Thanks Kylez and thanks for all of your comments along the way.

  5. Lisa April 9, 2013 at 12:47 am #

    i love to read anything where people are living their dream…. congrats 🙂

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 1:21 am #

      Thanks so much Lisa, I will try and maintain that dream like state as long as possible

  6. Catherine Rodie Blagg @CoTaaB April 9, 2013 at 1:30 am #

    Congratulations Matt! Awesome news!

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 2:19 am #

      Thanks Catherine, you’re one of the remarkable bloggers I spoke about who gave me a help along the way. Hope the foot is healing!

  7. Ash K April 9, 2013 at 2:01 am #

    Congratulations!! Aren’t Nanas simply the best? Most good things start with a remarkable Nana xx

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 8:39 am #

      Thanks Ash and I think your absolutely right.

  8. Angela April 9, 2013 at 2:17 am #

    That’s awesome Matt. So well deserved. You’re an awesome writer! Congratulations again 🙂

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 2:20 am #

      Too kind Ange, thanks so much. Hope you and your family are well.

  9. Twinkle in the Eye April 9, 2013 at 2:21 am #

    Congratulations! Well deserved 🙂

  10. LettheWildflowersGrow April 9, 2013 at 2:34 am #

    Congratulations to you Matt!Well deserved 🙂 You will have no troubles being the great dad you are,and writing for a living.x

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 2:48 am #

      Thanks for always saying such nice things Jessi, love having you around

  11. SarahMac April 9, 2013 at 2:51 am #

    CONGRATULATIONS!

  12. MrsD April 9, 2013 at 3:15 am #

    You certainly do have a remarkable talent – and a very wise Nan!! Congrats Matt, awesome job!! xx

  13. iSophie April 9, 2013 at 3:47 am #

    Fantastic opportunity, well done and congratulations! I love those photos of you and your son. #teamIBOT

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 8:33 am #

      Thank you Team IBOT, always nice to share on a Tuesday

  14. Keeping Up With The Holsbys April 9, 2013 at 4:01 am #

    Did your nip just do that naturally or did something remarkable happen to it?
    Remarkably well done, though, on the Remarkable bit.
    Now you can have it all. You’ll know what to do with it.
    I pinky swear.

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 8:36 am #

      Its always been that way Danielle since I was a wee lad. thanks for the nice words

  15. Ai Sakura April 9, 2013 at 4:30 am #

    Absolutely fantastic! Congratulations on this new journey and I’ve no doubt you will still continue to be you, on this blog and at home.

    Ai @ Sakura Haruka

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 8:37 am #

      Thanks for the support Ai and the guest post opportunity.

  16. Mumabulous April 9, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    Wow! You’ve reached the pinnacle of the Aussie blog world in one short year. You’re on track for world domination. Just remember who believed in you at the beginning. That’d be Beth Mac.
    Seriously congratulations! Love to hear a success story.
    Cheers Brenda

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 9:01 am #

      Thanks Brenda, same old Matt here, nothing to see ; ) I rang Beth Mac and gave her a big thank you, she’s very humble but I know this wouldn’t have happened without her support. Thanks for always adding your tuppence worth too!

  17. Wendy April 9, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    Congrats!! Coming to Mel in June with my EBM for your icecream stall 🙂

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

      Hey Wendy, pardon my ignorance but what ice cream stall would that be and what is your EBM

  18. Salz April 9, 2013 at 11:55 am #

    That is super awesome or should i say Remarkable. well done and I don’t think you will have a problem with the blogging thing and the being Remarkable thing cause your already there.

    • daddownunder April 9, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

      Wow thanks Salz, that’s very kind of you. My wife’s having none of this remarkable talk ; )

  19. Sabeen April 9, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

    That is fantastic news Matt 🙂 I met Lorraine at dpcon last month and thought the same thing.. I NEED a Lorraine… not creepy here either… she has so much positivity and confidence to offer a blogger, I can imagine how stoked you must feel !

    • daddownunder April 10, 2013 at 9:55 am #

      Hey Sabeen, thanks very much. It is a nice feeling to know that someone so capable has your back. Good luck with your blog!

  20. Poppy April 9, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    Congratulations! I am sure that doing something for yourself will only give you some surplus you can give right back to Max. Win-win situation 🙂

    • daddownunder April 10, 2013 at 9:56 am #

      It certainly feels like a win/win Poppy. Thanks for always commenting

  21. mandyferry April 10, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    well done, what a wonderful opportunity for you. I’m sure you’ll nail it.

    • daddownunder April 10, 2013 at 12:11 pm #

      Thanks very much for your faith Mandy. I hope I will

  22. mike cbay : YDad (@mikecbay) April 15, 2013 at 2:06 am #

    That’s superhero status. Well done sir Down Under!

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

Be your best self.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

wholelarderlove

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - Capturing Life

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

| Mrs Woog | Making the most of the mundane

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

