Swing Moves

18 Apr

We may crumple a bit where ironing is concerned, we may crash and burn whilst cooking dinner and we will almost certainly kick up a stink when it comes to changing nappies but get us Dads near a swing and we come into our own.

Any Dad worth his weight has a ‘swing move’. I’m not talking about throwing some soulful shapes to the 1930’s American music genre; I’m talking about a trademark park swing manoeuvre that sends the little one into a state of swing induced ecstasy.
IMG_4391
I’ve seen my fair share of swing moves in my time around the parks. I’ve made notes on some of the more successful techniques, I’ve networked with other Dad’s about what works for them and I’ve even coached one Dad who seemed happy with a basic push technique.

Here are the guidelines for my top 5 swing moves:

(1) The Helicopter – Build up some swing momentum with a few vigorous pushes and then when your child is least expecting it knock their ankles to one side. This will send them into a spin known as The Helicopter. As the child swings back into range push their ankles the opposite way and so on and so forth.

(2) The Grab – This is an oldie but a goodie. I first cut my teeth on The Grab and should be part of every Dad’s repertoire. Build up some swing momentum with a few vigorous pushes and then when your child is at their highest point wrap your arms around the entire swing and your child. Hold them in this position and then when they least expect it release them and wait for the giggles.
IMG_4392
(3) The Reverse Grab – As above but the push is delivered from the back of the swing and the grab occurs when your child is at their closest point to where you are standing. You grab around the swing and wrap your arms around your child’s belly. The reverse grab gives an extra element of surprise.

(4) The Ankle Biter – I stole this one from another Dad and is now top of my list. Give the swing a few front-on pushes. Using the element of surprise grab your child’s ankles when the swing is fully extended. This will give your child an immediate shot of adrenalin and leave them begging for more. Hold this position for a while before pushing the child back and forward till holding the ankles for a three count – 1,2,3 and let go.
IMG_4393
(5) The Duck, Bob and Weave – Heavyweight boxers duck, bob and weave to avoid losing too many brain cells, it works for Dad’s too. From a kneeling position start pushing the swing. As the child’s feet draw close the onus is on the Dad to duck , bob and weave at the very last moment to avoid getting a little footprint on your face. The child will do everything in their power to land a good kick so be sure to have your wits about you.

What are your swing moves? Have you seen a swing move backfire?

Flogging my blog with Grace at With Some Grace

35 Responses to “Swing Moves”

  1. Wendy April 18, 2013 at 3:24 am #

    Wow! Had no idea so many swing moves existed! Can’t wait to try some of these!

    • daddownunder April 18, 2013 at 3:29 am #

      The list is never ending Wendy. I might even add a video to make sure you get the technique right ; )

  2. About Me April 18, 2013 at 4:06 am #

    lol this had me in fits of giggles! A personal favourite of my kids was the Tickle. From the front of the swing build up momentum and then as they are just coming towards you reach in and give them a quick tickle…lots of giggles from this one. There is also the suspense builder of when you tickle them, it can’t be every time.

    • daddownunder April 18, 2013 at 4:35 am #

      I’m having that one, we’re off to the park soon I’ll give it a go and if it passes all the safety requirements i’ll ad dit to the list : )

  3. Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions April 18, 2013 at 6:04 am #

    I mut be the most boring swing pusher there is, I’ve not done any of these. To be honest im definitely the lazy, one-handed swing mum who is usually chatting away to someone at the same time! I will definitely be showing this list to Dave though as I know Punky would love these moves!

    • daddownunder April 18, 2013 at 8:25 am #

      Pinky will lose her sh1t when she gets stuck into these swing moves Kylez. Start her off with a standard grab and build up to the ankle biter. Good luck!

      • Kylez @ A Study in Contradictions April 19, 2013 at 3:05 am #

        Can I just say, I loved the video! I didn’t see it yesterday as I was reading on my phone but I just can’t get enough of Max’s giggle, LOVE IT!

  4. Zanni Arnot April 18, 2013 at 9:38 am #

    Love it. Congratulations on popping the cherry.

    • daddownunder April 18, 2013 at 9:40 am #

      Thanks Zanni 33 years but I finally got there : )

  5. Kassey April 18, 2013 at 9:40 am #

    That’s awesome! Congrats on a great 1st vlog. Junior enjoyed it too giggling in unison.
    Sooo what age will he learn the ‘eject & land’?

    • daddownunder April 18, 2013 at 9:42 am #

      Thanks very much Kassey. I tried an eject and land myself recently and ended up crumple din a heap on the floor

  6. Kevin April 18, 2013 at 9:51 am #

    one for you… “the daddy I can see the ocean from here”

    You push them back as high as you can and them let them go (and watch their mum freakout)

    • daddownunder April 18, 2013 at 10:04 am #

      You sound like you know your way around a swing Kev, thats going on the list.

  7. Salz April 18, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    hahaha love it. we do the ankle biter a lot. Might try the helicopter move.

    • daddownunder April 18, 2013 at 10:05 am #

      Go from ankle biter straight into helicopter Salz and then finish with a reverse grab for extra style points ; )

  8. MrsD April 18, 2013 at 10:12 am #

    Love it!! My poor third bub is so neglected as I’m just about over swings these day! I think you have just giving my swing motivation a new lease of life!

    • daddownunder April 18, 2013 at 11:22 am #

      Happy to help. Your entitled to be over it by the time number three comes along! Let me know how you go

  9. Lisa April 18, 2013 at 10:31 am #

    wow never seen the helicopter before! my 2yo loves the ankle biter but there’s no way I’ve got the skills for a duck, bob & weave – I’d probably end up with a black eye! you’re at one of our fave spots “the botangs” as we call it 🙂

    • daddownunder April 18, 2013 at 11:25 am #

      Good spot Lisa, it is indeed the botangs. It’s such a great park I think I’m there on a daily basis. If I see a mum doing the helicopter I’ll come and say hi

  10. Ai Sakura April 18, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

    I never knew that swings could get that exciting :p Gitta try some of these moves on my Lil Pumpkin

    Ai @ Sakura Haruka

    • daddownunder April 19, 2013 at 1:31 am #

      Swings are so underrated Ai, you’re only limited by your own imagination ; ) Hope Lil Pumpkin enjoys!

  11. nicolekristen April 19, 2013 at 1:53 am #

    Loved it!! What a fabulous vlog – can’t wait to see more 🙂 And I’m looking toward to trying out those swing moves with my 17mth old son when we go to the park next!!

    • daddownunder April 19, 2013 at 1:57 am #

      17 months is the perect age for some of these moves Nicole, your boy will love them. Start off with the grab and work up to the ankle biter. Thanks for your kind words

      • nicolekristen April 19, 2013 at 2:03 am #

        Thanks for the tip 🙂 Will let you know how we go next trip to the park!!

  12. This Charming Mum April 19, 2013 at 3:18 am #

    Gee, we’ve done quite a few of these, but never within a strict classification system! You’ve taught me something today! I must admit swings make me very nervous. It always seems like just a matter of time before disaster strikes. They’re an essential component of childhood though, really, aren’t they? Visiting from FYBF 🙂

    • daddownunder April 19, 2013 at 4:22 am #

      Has disaster ever struck your swing? I am yet to have a swing related accident but perhaps all this talk of being expert will be asking for trouble. Enjoy the swing moves in safety and thanks for stopping by

  13. Sonia Life Love Hiccups April 19, 2013 at 4:27 am #

    ooooo do you feel different now your cherry has been popped? lmao! Max’s laugh is just divine, tell him thank you – he has given me the biggest smile! x

    • daddownunder April 19, 2013 at 4:32 am #

      I feel all grown up Sonia and yes fortunately the focus was on Max and his gorgreous giggling noises. I will thank him for you although he might struggle to appreciate what it means to put a smile on a strangers face : )

  14. rhian @melbs April 19, 2013 at 7:32 am #

    Mans got da moves! Good to watch the technique first hand.

    • daddownunder April 19, 2013 at 7:39 am #

      It’s all about safety Rhian. And I definitely have not got da moves ; )

  15. memoirsofthemind April 19, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    Haha! To damn cute and Max is having a ball! Gonna be trying some of them!

    • daddownunder April 20, 2013 at 2:43 am #

      Let me know how you go Rory, if you struggle with any of them I do lessons too : ) thanks for saying hi

  16. Have a laugh on me April 21, 2013 at 12:51 am #

    What a great vlog!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE IT. And hearing the giggles of your son made me laugh. Have a great week 🙂

    • daddownunder April 21, 2013 at 4:56 am #

      Thanks Em, not sure its an oscar worthy performance on my part but I think The Boy carries us both through

      • Have a laugh on me April 21, 2013 at 5:34 am #

        I suppose it was nice to see the 3D you, if that makes sense!

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

Be your best self.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

New Here

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - Capturing Life

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

| Mrs Woog | Making the most of the mundane

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

