Putting the Special in Mum’s Special Day – Dettol Mission For Health

7 May

Dettol Mission for Health have asked me to write an article on what I will be doing this year to indulge the Mums in my life, unpicking the role that Dad plays on Mother’s Day. Below is a mere snippet, click HERE to read the full article.

I am a self-confessed mummy’s boy and always tell my mum what an amazing job she did and does. I can remember I used to save up my pocket money and buy her little gifts and you know you’ve done something right when your son does that. There are 16,891 reasons/km’s that all gang up to make spoiling my mum on Mother’s Day a logistical nightmare. For this reason, I make sure I always write my mum a letter, not an electronic letter (otherwise known as an email), I’m talking about a real bona fide letter complete with envelope and stamp, telling her what a fantastic mum she is.

Fortunately this year my parents bridged the 16,891km gap to say ‘hi’ to son and grandson. I made sure that during the stay I set aside a day to spend some quality time with mum and treat it like Mother’s Day. We went for a beautiful lunch at one of Melbourne’s most exclusive eateries and then took in the fragrant delights of the Melbourne International Flower Show. I felt all grown up as I kept telling my mum to put her purse away.

As a parent you suddenly appreciate the significance and enormity of a mother’s role. I am one of three children and my Mum was only 18 when she had my sister. Mothers groups and childcare were not the go in 1980’s England and she made some hefty sacrifices – and did an amazing job – with all three of us. Mums are deserving recipients of a day to call their own, to be acknowledged and to bask in a little son or daughter love.

2 Responses to “Putting the Special in Mum’s Special Day – Dettol Mission For Health”

  1. Have a laugh on me May 7, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    Congrats on being asked to write this – I’ll be checking it out 🙂

  2. rickfarrar May 7, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

    All Mums are special to their children and we all think that our Mums are the best. They are for us but there aren’t many men who do what you are doing. It is doubly difficult as we are not genetically predisposed for the caring and nurturing role and nor has evolution prepared us for this. Most societies with northern hemisphere cultural roots do not give much credit to fathers who take on the caring and nurturing role or give them much support. I hope that when Max reaches the stage that you have that he appreciates how much you have done for him in the way that you appreciate your wonderful mother. She is a very special lady who did a wonderful job on you three.

Leave a Reply

Dad Down Under

Just another WordPress site

Smaggle

Be your best self.

BIG FAMILY little income

Raising a family on little more than laughs.

New Here

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Life Love and Hiccups

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Tacklenappy - Tacklenappy - Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

edenland

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Kylie Purtell - Capturing Life

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

Woogsworld

| Mrs Woog | Making the most of the mundane

Home

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

With Some Grace

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

BabyMac

Wearer of Labels: Stay at Home Dad, Blogger, Fitness Junkie, Foodie, Follower of Fashion, Nomad

the illiterate infant

An Aussie Daddy blogger that's figured out the kids haven't read the books either

